This week I joined the Xanadu tour as Kira for some rollerskating, disco-licious fun times. In the original Broadway cast I understudied Kira, the Olivia Newton-John role. I’m wicked psyched to be lacing up my skates again!

I’ll only be gone for 9 weeks, and it’s a terrific gig that I’m grateful for, but I’m not gonna lie to ya, it’s hard to leave the N-to-the-Y-to-the-C and Jaradoa! We’ve got so much going on that I don’t want to miss. Dudes, we just started bowling in the Broadway Bowling League! And we’re in seventh place! Holler.

But more importantly I’ll be missing Play On! and Radio Plays – I would have loved to have been there for our first Black History Month Radio Play. Plus after getting to meet the students at PS122 I won’t be able to watch the development of the plays they write. And dammit, I want to know what’s going to happen to the evil grandmother stroking her evil cat which is in turn stroking its evil mouse,,,

Thanks to technology, I’m still a part of it all from the road. I get to coordinate the Black History Month Radio Play, recruit volunteers for Play On!, and even practice my bowling moves in rollerskates! No, it’s not the same as being there, but it’s enough. It’s plenty.

